CFHTT’S interview with Emily Bonney

emily-in-her-garden

Why did you join cheerleading

I joined cheerleading because in the past I had done brownies, dance, swimming, all of the ‘normal’ childhood hobbies. I just wanted to try something new.

What’s your favourite cheerleading uniform you have worn throughout the years?

rs-uniI have been lucky and had nice uniforms throughout my years of cheering, but my favourite uniform has to be the half top and ‘skort’ I wore in the 2014-2015 season.

 last season you attend  Cheersport what was that experience like

Yes! Cheersport was such an amazing experience, I was honoured to be picked for the team to compete in Atlanta! The atmosphere was great in the competition, and all the teams were so friendly! It was also amazing to share warm-up with Cheer extreme Senior Elite, and Stingray Allstars Orange!

What’s has been your biggest achievement in cheer to date

My biggest achievement in cheer so far would have to be competing and coming 4th at Cheersport nationals, and also being featured in the TV show ‘My team:  the cheerleaders’ on CBBC.

What’s your favourite part of a routine

This is defintley a tough one.. I love to watch the Pyramid as it’s the most thrilling. But I love to do Lib and Dance sections! – I love to perform, especially when I’m in the air.

You’re a cheerlebrity what has been your craziest cheerlebrity moment

There has definitely been a few crazy moments, but to name a couple – I was on a family holiday in Turkey, and there was a family next door to us who all knew me off the TV! (it was kind off strange to be recognised in a different country!) – Another moment is just after the TV show was aired, we were competing at ICC nationals. It was crazy to see just how many people had watched the show and knew me! I’ve had to get used to signing my name for lots of the younger athletes!

cystic-fibrosis-picThroughtout social media and Emily  blog she has helped to shine light on Cystic Fibrosis. Over 9,000 people in the UK have Cystic Fibrosis.a hereditary disorder affecting the exocrine glands. It causes the production of abnormally thick mucus, leading to the blockage of the pancreatic ducts, intestines, and bronchi and often resulting in respiratory infection.

You suffer with cystic fibrosis but it doesn’t seem to stop you. What message would you give to other suffering with the same condition?

For anyone else suffering from the condition, I would definitely say do not give up. CF tries to bring us down, but we need to show the world we don’t need to let it stop us.

You inspire so many athletes across the UK, does that motivate you to push yourself.

It definitely does motivate me to push myself and it makes me want to improve my skills as much as I can

So many athletes have mental blocks do you and if so how did you get over it.

I don’t currently have a mental block, but I have had them before in my tumbling. They can be scary to overcome, but I just started re working things from the basics, until I felt comfortable to start doing back tucks again!

What skill are you working on next?

The skills I am currently working on is My Kick double, and a standing back tuck.

13083270_10154132827547422_3395168239254548002_n

Who has been your biggest influence in the Cheer community?

13103505_10154145282027422_7091368167192556985_nMy biggest influence in the cheer community would have to be Jenee cruise. She is a really humble athlete and an amazing flyer!

What your favourite cheer memory and why

Its hard to  pick just one memory, but it would probably be when me and my team won ICC nationals for the first time in Senior All girl 4, and became national champions!

You have your own Youtube Channel why did you start this channel

For a while I had watched loads of different people on YouTube and it inspired me to start a channel and make some of my own! I like to film random chatty videos, to raise awareness for cystic fibrosis and of course cheer related videos!

Lastly what is your favourite UK Cheer team ( apart from the team you are on) and your favourite non UK cheer team and why?

My favourite UK cheer team would have to be Unity Allstars, every single one of the athletes is very talented and they always have amazing routines.

My favourite Non UK team would have to be Cheer extreme coed elite. However I love lots of the American gyms!

If you want to find out more about Emily  please feel free to follow her social Media accounts

Instgram – @_emilybonney

Twitter –    @_emilybonney

Blog –   http://www.emilybonney.blogspot.co.uk

Until next time guys

love  CFHTT

Don’t forget to follow us on twitter and  like us on  Facebook and check out our twitter and instagram

Facebook

@Cheerfromheadto

instagram

 

Leave a Reply

